​Certification is the process of independent auditors who are assigned by the system. The auditors' role is reviewing an organization's self-assessment answers and the information provided in support of these answers; if necessary, they re-score the participating company/organization based on their knowledge.

Certification allows for formal recognition of an organization's achievement and effort toward becoming disability confident; and provides access to expertise and guidance relating to improvement planning.  This can be particularly useful in areas where the organization is less confident. 

Prior to certification and in order to achieve a score that is reflective of actual performance in relation to being disability confident, it is recommended that participating organizations take time to review their self-assessment report and implement improvements where possible as well as ensure that their submitted evidence is intact.

1.      Evidence Submission

After reviewing its self-assessment report and implementing key recommendations, the participating organization indicates that it is ready to be certified. The certification assessment contains the same 8 standards and 144 questions as the self-assessment version of the ''Mowaamah'' Index submitted during the induction process with the difference being on submission of evidence.

The participating organization copies across data from their original submitted self-assessment form on-line which will allow them to:

1.       Makes amendments where applicable and based on any improvement implemented since reviewing their self-assessment report.

2.       Once all questions have been answered and supporting evidence uploaded on the system,

3.       The participating organization has to pay induction fees

4.       The system indicates that the assessment is complete, and submit company's payment of the induction fees after which a notification will be sent to the managing agent at the certifying body.

Upon receipt of the completed submission, the system will inform the participating organization with the time line for the review after confirming availability of auditors.

2.      Audit Process

1.       One independent expert Auditor review the organization's submission.  This Auditor will have the appropriate skills; qualifications and experience of supporting organizations toward becoming disability confident. This is essential to ensure the robustness of the certification system in working towards the mutual benefit of persons with disabilities and business.

2.       A Supervisor alongside the assigned auditors checks every answer and reads through all corresponding supporting information.  The Supervisor adjusts the organiz​ation's self-assessed score based on his/her their evaluation of the supporting information.

3.       After this, the Supervisor finalizes the findings, the organization's score and any recommendations for improvement.

4.       The Supervisor writes the report, which provides a summary of scores, highlights strengths and areas for improvements and links to sources of best practice and information. 

5.       Upon completion, the Supervisor contacts the company lead person to arrange a date for a two hour debrief meeting with the Auditors to discuss the content of the report, reason for specific scoring, and help the organization to implement effective improvement planning.  

6.       During this meeting, the company lead person receives the official report.

7.       A 'certificate' is issued to reflect how well the organization did in demonstrating its progress towards greater disability confidence.

3.      Scoring

Each section of the ''Mowaamah'' Index consists of 18 questions with a Yes/No/Not applicable option. A mark awarded for each "YES" answer, no mark awarded for "NO" answer and the question with "Not applicable" answer will be removed from the total number of questions following:


Not ApplicableOut of the total


The formula to calculate the percentage will be as following:

X = Yes, Y= No, Z = Not applicable;

Score Percentage = ( X )/(X+Y)

Example 1:

A company answered 97 questions with "YES", 47 questions with "NO" and Zero questions with "Not Applicable"

X = 97, Y= 47, Z = 0

Score Percentage = (97)/(97+47) = 67%

Example 2:

A company answered 97 questions with "YES", 30 questions with "NO" and 17 questions with "Not Applicable"

X= 97 , Y= 30 , Z= 17

Score Percentage = (97)/(97+30) = 76%

The 'Not applicable' option must be avoided as much ​as possible and justified when used.

Once the Auditor submits his report by approving or amending the scores on the system, an official score is offered by the system and Certificate according to the level attained is issued. 

The certification award will depend on an organization's score; following are the four types of certification. 

       Ø   Gold status for a score 70% and above

       Ø   Silver status for a score between 50-69%

       Ø   Bronze status for a score between 30-49%

       Ø   Participant status for a score between 15-29%

Companies scoring less than 15% on the self-assessment should not apply for the certification and are expected to implement an internal improvement plan and resubmit their self-assessment within a period of six months.

Against each status of the four types of Certification, companies will receive incentives from MoL and MoLPlus. Incentives types will depend on the company's status whether it is Gold, Silver, Bronze or Participant.

The Certification for companies/organizations recognized as Gold, Silver or Bronze is expected to be valid for a period of two years. Certification for companies with a Participant status is expected to be valid for a period of one year only after which they are required to show improvement towards the Bronze, Silver or Gold status in the second assessment. If they score less than 30% in their second assessment, Participant status companies would lose their Certification until they implement changes allowing them to score above 30%.

Certified companies/organizations will be recognized publically in the form of publicity and awards coordinated by certifying body.​